Falling in love.

They say that love hits you when you least expect it.

I’ve been in Dili, Timor Leste for just four days now, and I think I’m falling in love.

I love that when I walk down my street the kids all shout greetings at me. Bondia in the mornings, botarde if it’s the afternoon, and bonoiti at night.

I love the ubiquitous butterfly’s that flutter around the yard. The chickens who cluck up and down the path.

I love the smiles of the people as they giggle at my terrible Tetun.

I love that people refer to each other as mana (sister), or maun (brother). I love that they giggle at the rhyme of mana Sharna.

I love my crazy housemates. Ben, with his monkey impressions, Jessie and her crazy outbursts, Ciella who is possibly the sweetest girl in the world, and of course, the wonderful and familiar Tess.

It might not last. It might just be a short fling. We will inevitably have a falling out.

But for now, Timor, you have stolen my heart.

One thought on “Falling in love.

  1. Pingback: Stuck in Reverse | It's the people and places.

Leave a Reply

