Bravery is being scared, but doing something anyway.

I quite often find myself surprised at my mind. Well, not just my mind, but all minds. More specifically, I find myself surprised at how my mind manages to forget things. Like how awful hangovers are. It’s o nly when they happen again that you remember how terrible they are.

Right now, I’m amazed at how my mind has forgotten just how much I hate going away and just how much I love the feeling of doing something challenging.

I love travelling. I really love travelling. I love new places, new cultures, new adventures. But I hate saying goodbye. And today, I said it a lot. Yep, at the ripe old age of 29, the thought of saying goodbye – to my friends, my family, my dog – for just three months was enough to give me a case of the weepies.

It’s not as though this is new scenario for me. I’ve done it a number of times before. But each time, like the aftermath of a night of tequila slammers, I forget. I forget how much I worry about my dog. I forget that I hate not speaking to my mum at least twice a day. And I forget the horrible feeling of the lump in my throat and the tears welling in my eyes as I fight them.

But it’s at these exact moments, when I’m completely alone in an airport, in that weird no-man’s land between home and somewhere else, that I remember how much I love the feeling of achievement I get when all is said and done. When I’ve done something that I didn’t think I could do. When I’ve gone so far out of my comfort zone that I’m totally terrified but I push through it.

A wise person I know likened a similar situation to the one in which I currently find myself as Dodgem Cars, and not a rollercoaster. I might get knocked around by the external forces that come with living in a foreign country, but unlike a rollercoaster, I’m still in control of what I do.  It was a perfectly-timed analogy that just prevented me from crying into a glass of merlot at an airport bar.

I remember reading somewhere a long, long time ago that bravery is being scared to do something, but doing it anyway.

That’s what I’ll do.

I’ll be scared, but I’ll do it anyway. Because every adventure comes with a bit of fearfulness, right? Otherwise it wouldn’t be a worthwhile adventure.

4 thoughts on “Bravery is being scared, but doing something anyway.

  1. “Everything goes, everything comes back… Everything breaks, everything is joined anew… Everything parts, everything greets every other thing again.”

    So, go now; break that which you knew; part from all that is familiar. And allow yourself to do it with the confidence that you’ll return, that all things renew, and these sad goodbyes are just happy impending hellos.

    I wish I could shoulder the fear for you; spare you these airport-induced-interim misgivings. But in the end it would prove a disservice. For you are one of the most capable people I know and if anyone can meet the task ahead – it’s you. Of that I have no doubt.

    Once more unto the breach, dear Walsh. Surrender to this, your next great adventure. We’ll be here waiting to greet you when you return. Triumphant? But of course. X

  2. Exactly. If you are doing something and you are feeling a bit scared and uncomfortable – then you know you are going in the right direction. Personal development can only come if you step outside of your comfort zone. Being brave is about challenging yourself, regardless of what your fears were before. Doing something may be terrifying for one person but a casual event for others – we all have different experiences and circumstances.

Leave a Reply

